Myanmar is currently ruled by a military government: The State Peace and Development Council (SPDC). This party has taken power undemocratically in 1988. General Than Shwe became the head of the state in 1992. He´s both the commander-in-chief and the prime minister of the fourty-headed government. The SPDC rules without constitution as a so-called provisional government. A new constitution was being negotiated. However, the current regime wants to see their dominant leadership entrenched in the constitution.

The opposition party, National League for Democracy (NLD), won the elections to form the new parliament in 1990. However, the military junta never accepted the results of the election. Since that day, the
NLD´s protest is repressed violently by the government. Previous negotiations about a new constitution failed because the current military regime doesn´t accept to see officialise the very existence of the opposition.

Myanmar is divided into seven states (Chin, Kachin, Shan, Kayin, Kayah, Mon and Rakhine) and seven divisions (Sagaing, Mandalay, Magway, Bago, Ayeyarwady, Yangon and Thanintharyi). In each state live different dominant ethnic groups. Almost 70% of the population is formed by the Bamar ethnic group and they live in Myanmar´s seven divisions.

• Please note that politics in Myanmar is a sensitive topic which should   always be dealt carefully and objectively.

  © 2008 Myanmar Travelnet contact imprint